George Harrison Vinyl Records Lps For Sale

Check out these new and used George Harrison vinyl records LPs for sale. George Harrison was a British musician who is most well known for being the lead guitarist in The Beatles. Paul McCartney brought him along to famously play the song Raunchy for John Lennon and that secured his membership into the fab four. George was referred to as the quiet Beatle, and he incorporated Indian influences after hearing Ravi Shankar. His use of the sitar on Norwegian Wood is a great example of this influence. Harrison’s songwriting greatly improved by the end of the Beatles, which makes sense if you’re trying to keep up with Lennon and McCartney. His song Something is considered one of the greatest Beatles songs of all time. He actually borrowed the first line from James Taylor after hearing his song Something in the Way She Moves. The song is about Pattie Boyd, who ended up later marrying his good friend Eric Clapton. Fun fact: Eric also wrote a song about her called Layla. After the Beatles broke up, George had the most ambitious solo album titled All Things Must Pass which contained the hit song My Sweet Lord. The Chiffons later sued Harrison for plagiarism of their song He’s So Fine. In the 1980s, George formed the Traveling Wilburys with his friends Roy Orbison, Tom Petty, Jeff Lynne from ELO, and Bob Dylan. Harrison passed away in 2001 after a long battle with lung cancer. We recommend starting your George Harrison vinyl collection with the essential albums Wonderwall Music, Electronic Sound and All Things Must Pass. Our inventory is always changing, so check back often, or browse our list of vinyl records for sale from rock musicians.

George Harrison Vinyl Record Lps For Sale

George Harrison: The Quiet Beatle’s Musical Odyssey

Early Days and The Beatles Era

Birth and Beginnings (1943-1957) George Harrison, born on February 25, 1943, in Liverpool, England, embarked on a musical journey that would leave an indelible mark on the world. His early interest in skiffle and rock ‘n’ roll set the stage for his eventual role in one of the greatest bands in history.

The Beatles Emergence (1960-1963) Joining The Beatles in 1958, Harrison contributed his guitar prowess and songwriting talents to the band’s meteoric rise. As the “Quiet Beatle,” he began honing his craft and establishing a distinctive voice within the musical tapestry of The Beatles.

Solo Debut: “Wonderwall Music” (1968)

Venturing into Film Scores “Wonderwall Music” (1968) marked Harrison’s debut as a solo artist. Composed as a soundtrack for the film “Wonderwall,” the album showcased Harrison’s instrumental versatility and hinted at the diverse musical explorations that would define his solo career.

Notable Tracks:

  1. “Microbes”
  2. “Red Lady Too”
  3. “Drilling a Home”
  4. “Ski-ing”

The Spiritual Quest: “Electronic Sound” (1969)

Avant-Garde Soundscapes “Electronic Sound” (1969) delved into avant-garde territory, featuring two lengthy experimental tracks created with the Moog synthesizer. While not a commercial success, the album demonstrated Harrison’s willingness to explore unconventional musical realms.

Notable Tracks:

  1. “Under the Mersey Wall”
  2. “No Time or Space”

All Things Must Pass: “All Things Must Pass” (1970)

Epic Triple Album Released in 1970, “All Things Must Pass” is a magnum opus that showcased Harrison’s songwriting depth and spiritual reflections. The triple album featured an array of musicians, including Eric Clapton and Ringo Starr, and produced timeless classics like “My Sweet Lord” and “What Is Life.”

Notable Tracks:

  1. “My Sweet Lord”
  2. “What Is Life”
  3. “Isn’t It a Pity”
  4. “Beware of Darkness”

Living in the Material World: “Living in the Material World” (1973)

Spirituality and Worldly Reflections “Living in the Material World” (1973) continued Harrison’s exploration of spirituality and his commentary on the materialistic world. The album retained the melodic richness of its predecessor and featured introspective tracks like “Give Me Love (Give Me Peace on Earth)” and “The Light That Has Lighted the World.”

Notable Tracks:

  1. “Give Me Love (Give Me Peace on Earth)”
  2. “Sue Me, Sue You Blues”
  3. “The Light That Has Lighted the World”
  4. “Living in the Material World”

Dark Horse: “Dark Horse” (1974)

Challenges and Resilience “Dark Horse” (1974) reflected a challenging period in Harrison’s life, marked by vocal strain and personal difficulties. Despite the challenges, the album featured tracks that resonated with fans, including the title track “Dark Horse” and the reflective “So Sad.”

Notable Tracks:

  1. “Dark Horse”
  2. “Far East Man”
  3. “Simply Shady”
  4. “So Sad”

Extra Texture: “Extra Texture (Read All About It)” (1975)

Subdued Reflections “Extra Texture (Read All About It)” (1975) continued the introspective tone of Harrison’s work. The album featured a more subdued sound, with tracks like “You” and “This Guitar (Can’t Keep from Crying)” showcasing his ability to convey emotion through his music.

Notable Tracks:

  1. “You”
  2. “The Answer’s at the End”
  3. “This Guitar (Can’t Keep from Crying)”
  4. “World of Stone”

33 & 1/3: “33 & 1/3” (1976)

Return to Form “33 & 1/3” (1976) marked a return to form for Harrison. The album showcased a more upbeat and optimistic sound, featuring hits like “Crackerbox Palace” and the playful “This Song.” It demonstrated Harrison’s ability to blend catchy melodies with meaningful lyrics.

Notable Tracks:

  1. “Crackerbox Palace”
  2. “This Song”
  3. “See Yourself”
  4. “True Love”

George Harrison: The Traveling Wilburys Era

The Wilburys Formation (1988) In the late 1980s, Harrison joined forces with Bob Dylan, Roy Orbison, Tom Petty, and Jeff Lynne to form the supergroup Traveling Wilburys. The collaboration resulted in two albums that showcased the collective brilliance of these iconic musicians.

Cloud Nine: “Cloud Nine” (1987)

Career Resurgence “Cloud Nine” (1987) marked a significant resurgence in Harrison’s solo career. Produced by Jeff Lynne, the album featured the hit single “Got My Mind Set on You” and showcased a rejuvenated Harrison exploring rock and pop with a fresh perspective.

Notable Tracks:

  1. “Got My Mind Set on You”
  2. “Cloud 9”
  3. “Devil’s Radio”
  4. “Fish on the Sand”

Posthumous Releases and Legacy

Brainwashed (2002) George Harrison’s final studio album, “Brainwashed” (2002), was completed by his son Dhani Harrison and Jeff Lynne after his death in 2001. The album reflected Harrison’s enduring creativity and featured tracks like “Any Road” that resonated with fans.

Legacy and Influence George Harrison’s legacy extends beyond his role as a Beatle. His spiritual explorations, masterful guitar work, and songwriting prowess have left an indelible mark on the world of music. From the timeless “My Sweet Lord” to the reflective “While My Guitar Gently Weeps,” Harrison’s contributions continue to inspire generations of musicians and listeners.

Conclusion: A Musical Odyssey Remembered

The Quiet Beatle’s Echo George Harrison’s musical odyssey, from the early days of The Beatles to his solo ventures and collaborations, reflects a rich tapestry of creativity. His ability to blend diverse influences, explore spirituality, and convey profound emotions through music ensures that his legacy will forever echo in the annals of rock history.

Visited 1 times, 1 visit(s) today