Leo Kottke Vinyl Records Lps For Sale

Check out these new and used Leo Kottke vinyl records LPs for sale. We recommend starting your Leo Kottke vinyl collection with the essential albums 12-String Blues, Greenhouse and Ice Water. Our inventory is always changing, so check back often, or browse our list of vinyl records for sale from rock musicians.

Leo Kottke Vinyl Record Lps For Sale

Leo Kottke: Master of the 12-String Guitar

Early Life and Musical Journey

Early Years in Athens, Georgia

Born on September 11, 1945, in Athens, Georgia, Leo Kottke’s journey into the world of music began at an early age. Growing up in a musical family, he developed an early fascination with the guitar.

The Influences of Blind Blake and 12-String Discovery

Kottke’s early exposure to the recordings of blues guitarist Blind Blake left an indelible mark on his musical sensibilities. His discovery of the 12-string guitar further ignited his passion for the instrument, setting the stage for a distinctive career.

Debut Album: “12-String Blues” (1969)

Introducing Kottke’s Virtuosity

Released in 1969, “12-String Blues” marked the beginning of Leo Kottke’s discography. The album showcased his virtuosic fingerpicking technique and introduced listeners to his unique approach to the 12-string guitar.

Tracks to Explore

  • Vaseline Machine Gun“: A showcase of Kottke’s intricate fingerpicking style and his ability to create a rich, layered sound on the 12-string guitar.
  • “Busted Bicycle”: Reflecting Kottke’s early mastery of folk and blues influences, this track highlights his melodic sensibilities.

Evolution of Style: “Mudlark” (1971) to “Greenhouse” (1972)

“Mudlark” (1971)

  • Key Tracks: “Embryonic Journey,” “Mona Ray”
  • Evolution: “Mudlark” continued to display Kottke’s prowess on the 12-string guitar, with a mix of original compositions and covers. His interpretation of Jefferson Airplane’s “Embryonic Journey” showcased his ability to reimagine familiar tunes.

“Greenhouse” (1972)

  • Key Tracks: “Bean Time,” “Easter”
  • Evolution: This album marked a shift toward a more experimental sound. “Bean Time” demonstrated Kottke’s willingness to explore unconventional rhythms and structures, hinting at the sonic diversity that would define his later work.

Collaborations and Expanding Horizons: “Leo Kottke” (1976) to “A Shout Toward Noon” (1986)

“Leo Kottke” (1976)

  • Key Tracks: “Part Two,” “Mona Ray”
  • Diversification: Kottke’s eponymous album showcased his versatility, incorporating elements of jazz and classical music. “Part Two” exemplified his evolving style, incorporating complex fingerpicking patterns and unexpected harmonic shifts.

“A Shout Toward Noon” (1986)

  • Key Tracks: “William Powell,” “Bigger Situation”
  • Experimental Phase: This album reflected Kottke’s willingness to embrace experimentation. The track “William Powell” featured spoken word poetry, showcasing his desire to push musical boundaries.

Influence on Acoustic Guitarists and Contemporary Impact

Mentorship and Influence

Leo Kottke’s innovative approach to the guitar has influenced generations of acoustic musicians. His fingerpicking technique, characterized by intricate patterns and melodic phrasing, has become a cornerstone of modern acoustic guitar playing.

Impact on Fingerstyle and Acoustic Blues

Kottke’s impact on the fingerstyle and acoustic blues genres is immeasurable. Guitarists such as Tommy Emmanuel and Andy McKee have acknowledged Kottke’s influence on their own playing styles, adopting his techniques and expanding upon them.

Continued Exploration: “Great Big Boy” (1991) to “Noon” (2004)

“Great Big Boy” (1991)

  • Key Tracks: “Agnes of Sicily,” “Eggtooth”
  • Matured Sound: “Great Big Boy” showcased a matured Leo Kottke, still exploring new sonic territories. The track “Agnes of Sicily” revealed a refined approach to composition and a continued commitment to pushing his own artistic boundaries.

“Peculiaroso” (1994)

  • Key Tracks: “Snorkel,” “Peckerwood”
  • Collaborations: “Peculiaroso” featured collaborations with artists like Rickie Lee Jones and Van Dyke Parks. The album demonstrated Kottke’s ability to seamlessly blend his distinctive style with diverse musical influences.

“One Guitar, No Vocals” (1999)

  • Key Tracks: “Three/Quarter North,” “June Bug”
  • Minimalist Approach: Embracing a stripped-down, solo guitar approach, “One Guitar, No Vocals” highlighted Kottke’s ability to captivate listeners with the pure, unadorned sound of his 12-string guitar.

“Noon” (2004)

  • Key Tracks: “Monkey Money,” “Wonderland by Night”
  • Later Explorations: “Noon” showcased Kottke’s continued exploration of different genres, including elements of jazz and world music. The track “Monkey Money” displayed his penchant for blending complex rhythms with melodic phrasing.

Legacy and Recognition

Awards and Honors

Leo Kottke’s contributions to the world of music have not gone unnoticed. Over the course of his career, he has received several accolades, including Grammy nominations and a Doctorate of Music honoris causa from the University of Wisconsin–Milwaukee.

Induction into the Guitar Player Hall of Fame

In recognition of his groundbreaking contributions to the art of fingerstyle guitar playing, Kottke was inducted into the Guitar Player Hall of Fame, solidifying his place among the legends of the instrument.

Final Reflections on Leo Kottke’s Musical Odyssey

Leo Kottke’s career is a testament to the transformative power of the guitar. His innovative use of the 12-string instrument, coupled with a fearless approach to genre exploration, has left an indelible mark on the world of acoustic music. As a mentor to aspiring musicians and a trailblazer in his own right, Kottke’s legacy continues to resonate, ensuring that his influence will echo through the strings of countless guitars for generations to come.

Visited 1 times, 1 visit(s) today